PDA

View Full Version : broke the ZIF connector for my laptop's power button! help!

NamelessNom4d
09-22-2011, 04:09 AM
I took apart my laptop to clean it and fix some other shit, and I probably shouldn't have been doing that stoned...

Missed a screw and pulled too hard on the keyboard tray piece trying to get it off, which of course the power button is on. Anyway, the ZIF ribbon tore clean off at the base of the circuit board the button is on. I think I can resolder it but I'm a noob at soldering. I need to do this tonight because I need my laptop for class tomorrow. :facepalm:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-G60-Compaq-CQ50-Power-Button-Board-486627-001-/260802219560

That's the part I need, I broke the cable off at the base of the board, but you can still see the metal nubs sticking out. I think I can resolder it but I've never soldered anything like this before. Is there anything special I need to do to make sure I don't completely fuck it up? The ribbon itself doesn't have any exposed wire so I need to figure out how to strip the insulation off that at the very least.

is all mememememe with me
09-22-2011, 04:31 AM
i think you'd be best to order the new part and just explain the problem to your school. im sure they can make an allowance for this sort of thing. these things happen, what can you do?

NamelessNom4d
09-22-2011, 04:41 AM
i think you'd be best to order the new part and just explain the problem to your school. im sure they can make an allowance for this sort of thing. these things happen, what can you do?

That's what I plan on doing, I'm sure it'll be fine. I want to fix it now if I can though, and order a new part anyway so I don't have to use my ghetto soldered laptop all the time :hrmph:

Zok Jr.
09-22-2011, 04:45 AM
I had this same thing happen to me before if you stick a knife or something in the slot on the motherboard where the cable connects you can find the solder joints for the power you can jump them and it will turn on.