PDA

View Full Version : got this e-mail about ethanol from sorghum in china, could be spam?


sexualjesus
08-20-2009, 05:19 AM
yeh i got this pretty legit looking e-mail in my inbox today, asking me to give my oppinion on a synth from a food called sweet sorghum, seems kinda random since i havnt used my real e-mail for any drugs forums and it went to my inbox rather then junk. anyone get it?

Dear Colleague,



We received a manuscript titled: Production crystal sugar and alcohol from Sweet Sorghum



The Abstract is given below:

Abstract


In the semi-arid tropics worldwide, Sweet sorghum is cultivated by farmers on a subsistence level and consumed as food by humanity. In the context of China, we examine the advantages that the transformation of sorghum to ethanol can give to China in the economic and environmental field. Reducing the use of non-renewable fossil energy reserves together with improving the environment are two important reasons that drive interest in the use of bioethanol as an automotive fuel.



Keywords: Sweet Sorghum, Sugar, Alcohol, energy, and Environment








I wish to inquire if you can create time to review this manuscript. We will be most grateful if the manuscript can be reviewed and sent to us within 2 weeks. Please kindly send us your response within 72hours from now.



I am looking forward to your response.



Best regards,



Aghuniafe Onajite

Editorial Assistant

Journal of African Studies and Development (JASD)

E-mail: jasd.journal@gmail.com



http://www.academicjournals.org/jasd

RAOVQ
08-20-2009, 06:28 AM
you mean this article that is four years old and already published online?

http://scholar.google.com/scholar?q=Production+crystal+sugar+and+alcohol+fro m+Sweet+Sorghum&hl=en&lr=&btnG=Search

This seems pretty damn suspicious. Unsolicited mail from african country = bad news.

Out of curiosity i flicked through the article and it is complete shit. They have a total of 5 references, of which one would be considered acceptable.

Give it a miss.

Fractals
08-20-2009, 06:34 AM
You could do something 419eater (http://www.419eater.com/)-esque, troll/scam the scammer

Kamuy
08-20-2009, 06:53 AM
Google the dudes name and it comes up with a facebook result of a nigerian looking dude named 'steady' lol

Crashwangdoodle
08-20-2009, 12:02 PM
http://www.filipinowriter.com/introducing-international-journal-of-english-and-literature
http://networking-world.blogspot.com/2009/08/invitation-to-review-cro-09-013.html

http://www.facebook.com/people/Aghuniafe-Steady-Onajite/1398306460

Your Mr. Onajite is busy

stateofhack
08-20-2009, 01:54 PM
LOL, this is a good time :D

Answer him back and troll the shit out of him..for the good of chemistry :D

sexualjesus
08-20-2009, 02:08 PM
LOL, this is a good time :D

Answer him back and troll the shit out of him..for the good of chemistry :D

lol, for you, anything!

ill post his reply in a new thread, but ive pretty much got the answer i was looking for, thanks everyone, you guys can close at will :D

stateofhack
08-20-2009, 03:58 PM
Post it in the BS thread please.